FlySafair becomes the largest domestic airline in South Africa, perfects the act of stadium flyovers

FlySafair is becoming famous for its stadium flyovers. The airline from South Africa made a flyover over the stadium as the Boks defeated the Wallbies 43-12.

Meanwhile with the South African Airways reoganization and downsizing, FlySafair has quietly become the largest domestic airline in South Africa.

The company touts its success:

Safair has been involved in passenger airlines for a long time, but before FlySafair, we’d never flown under our own colours. Operating on a lease basis we’ve flown for numerous local and international airlines including SAA, Mango, Kulula, RyanAir and many others.

On October 16, 2014 FlySafair took to the skies with our own pink and blue tail and the business entered into a whole new era. Our low fares immediately disrupted the market bringing down the average cost of flying by as much as 32% on some of the routes we operated.

FlySafair introduced this new look in 2022:


This in turn opened up the world of air travel to many South Africans who’d never had the chance to fly before. We can imagine that after landing on dirt runways in the heart of Africa, the smooth runways of South Africa’s major airports are no sweat at all for Safair’s skilled crews.

A lot has changed since our launch in October 2014. When we launched, we started our operations with only two aircraft operating between Johannesburg and Cape Town. Our schedule has increased immensely since then, and we’ve also added to the number of aircraft we operate. As it stands, we are currently sitting on 22 aircraft. This has assists us in achieving our dream of flying all over South Africa, although we are not quite where we want to be as yet.Destinations we fly to and from:

  • Johannesburg – O.R. Tambo International Airport (JNB)
    • Lanseria International Airport (HLA)
  • Cape Town – Cape Town International Airport (CPT)
  • Durban – King Shaka International Airport (DUR)
  • East London – East London Airport (ELS)
  • Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth) – Chief Dawid Stuurman International Airport (PLZ)
  • George – George Airport (GRJ)
  • Bloemfontein – Bram Fischer International Airport (BFN)
  • Mauritius – Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoola International Airport (MRU)
  • Zanzibar – Abeid Amani Karume International Airport (ZNZ)